Other Expenses and Penalties
A non-refundable, one-time application fee of $40 for undergraduate and $50 for graduate is required of all applicants except Georgia residents 62 years of age or older, and active duty military personnel.
Residents of CSU apartments and other housing must be enrolled full-time at Columbus State University. Fees are due at the time of registration. Fees are subject to change by the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. For an overview of options related to living at CSU, and to apply for housing, visit Fees are subject to change by the Board of Regents of the University System of Georgia. For an overview of options related to living at CSU, visit https://life.columbusstate.edu/index.php. For pricing of housing and meals, please visit https://life.columbusstate.edu/pricing.php.
A non-refundable $200.00 annual application fee is collected when a student applies for housing at CSU. The application fee covers administrative costs related to the application and assignment process.
Residence Life Activity Fee
A $50.00 annual residence life activity fee is collected at the time of application to housing. The fee allows the Residence Life Office to provide regular educational and social activities within the residence halls.
Online Students Residing in Campus Housing
In accordance with the University System of Georgia Board of Regents Policy 188.8.131.52, students living in on-campus housing will be charged all mandatory fees for all classes for which they are registered, regardless of whether their classes are on campus or online. Please visit our Bursar's Office web page for information about tuition and mandatory fees.
Among other amenities, all CSU apartments feature 24-hour security, high-speed Internet access, a full kitchen and on-site laundry and fitness facilities. Utilities, local phone service and free extended cable television service are included in the housing fees. A free shuttle bus transports students hourly between CSU housing and the two campuses. Both campuses offer shopping and dining opportunities within walking distance.
Additional Registration Fees
First-time registrations during the schedule change period, $25; registrations approved after schedule change, $50.
A special class fee is added to certain courses to cover the costs of instructional materials or other expenses. Additional class fees, if applicable, are specified in the course schedule during registration each semester.
Applied Music Fees
Special fees are added for individual and class instruction in applied music. Applied music fees, if applicable, are specified in the course schedule during registration each semester.
All book sales are final; no refunds will be made. Approximate cost of books and supplies ranges from approximately $400-$600 per semester.
Delinquent Fees and Fines
Students may be withdrawn from Columbus State University at any time they become delinquent in the payment of tuition, fees, the clearing of fines, or the repayment of loans. Students who owe a balance for housing or the meal plan may be removed from housing and/or have their meal plan suspended for failure to pay. A $50 Delinquent Account Fee may be charged to accounts that are 60 days past due in the payment of tuition, fees, housing, or meals. Registration will be stopped and copies of educational records will be withheld if a student has either outstanding financial obligations or delinquent loans. If a student has early registered for a future term and has either outstanding financial obligations or delinquent loans, their registration for the future term may be cancelled. Students referred to a collection agency will be responsible for additional collection fees and may have their account status reported to major Credit Reporting Bureaus.
Returned Check Charge
Records will be held and the check must be redeemed prior to further registration or receipt of transcript. After one returned check, personal checks will not be accepted. For a first instance of a returned check, a fee of $15.00 will be charged, in addition to the face value of the original check. A fee of $30.00 or 5% of the face value of the check, whichever is greater, in addition to the face value of the original check, will be charged on each instance of a returned check after the first one. Unclaimed returned checks for tuition and related fees will result in dismissal from all courses 10 days after notification is sent to the customer.
Students referred to a collection agency will be responsible for additional collection fees and may have their account status reported to major Credit Reporting Bureaus.